Truck driving training frequent questions and enquiries.
Is Free truck driving school beneficial?
The answer is No, Not at all, because it’s not really free. A free program might seem like a pretty great deal, but in reality, it’s not free. Yes, it’s very disappointing. In fact, it’s one of the worst stings you can be tricked into. Some CDL training schools will promote “Free CDL Training” or “Company Sponsored CDL Training.” Truck driving schools promise to pay for the entire cost of the school as long as students sign a contract agreeing to work for the company for a least a year after graduating or completion of training. It’s all hidden in tiny words in fine print that make all the difference.
Where do I get study material for CLP (Commercial Learners permit)?
CDL students can get a commercial handbook from DMV but you can get study material at the school student decide to join. At A-1 Truck driving we provide free study material once students join and commit to taking a truck driving courses at our truck driving school.
How much does it cost for truck driving school in California?
Truck driving training cost the very state to state or truck driving school to truck driving school, so it depends where you live in California or decides to join CDL truck school, The average cost for tuition is almost nothing but behind the wheel, truck driving cost approximately $1300.00 to $7000.00 and the average schools charge around $1500.00 the which is remarkably low compare to other states. The average truck driving program affordable for almost every truck driving student.
How do I get a truck driving license in California?
CDL student must pay a $82.00 application fee for a 5-year class A license, If applicant is applying for a renewal than renewal fee is $48.00, Also pass a vision test, submit a Medical Examination Report and student able to take and pass the written examination
What are the requirements to obtain a CDL(Commercial Driving License)?
The student applying for CDL at least has to be 18 years of age to drive in-state its called INTRASTATE, 21 years old to drive state-to-state, its called INTERSTATE. Possess proof of California residency, must have a social security card (original, not photocopy or laminated copy) also must have proof of legal presence and authorization to work in the United States and ability to pass written examination.
How many attempts for Class A, CDL written test?
CDL students will have 3 attempts for each test, If students fail more than 3 times in any test than he or she has to take all tests again and repay the fee.
What is the validity of CLP (commercial learners permit) ?
CLP that is commercial learner’s permit is good for 1 year from the date of the original application, after the expiration of a 1-year student has to apply for CLP again. Learners permit is valid for 180 days after the expiration of the first 180 days CDL, the student can go back to DMV to renew their learner’s permit, and then it’s valid again for 180 more days.
Is truck driving a high paying job?
Yes definelty truck driving is one of the high paying job.
Do you have to go to truck driving school to get a CDL?
No, not really, but joining a truck driving school makes things easier and faster. Some cases CDL applicants don’t have CMV(Commercial motor vehicle) to take behind the wheel test at the DMV this is where schools become effective.
Can I take my permit test online?
No, not in the state of Californa you are not allowed to take permit online, CDL applicant must go to DMV to obtain CLP, learners permit.
What will disqualify you from getting a CDL? Can a felon get a CDL ?
It depends on the felony. There are truck driving schools for felons, and some felons may have a temporary ban on getting their CDL. Federal laws can stop felons from getting their CDL in the following cases:
Arson, Smuggling, Kidnapping, Intent to murder, Bribery, Extortion, Manslaughter, with a motor vehicle, also Driving with a BAC of 0.8% or higher. Causing fatality with a vehicle due to negligent or reckless driving
If CMV (Commercial motor vehicle) is chosen to commit a felony, then individual also be banned from getting CDL.
Which CDL endorsement pays the most?
It depends on the company or type of operation. Most of the time Hazmat, Tanker, or oversize load haulers get paid the most. Again it depends on the demand for the truck drivers or origin.
Can you just walk in and take your permit test?
Yes between the regular business hours of DMV a CDL applicant can take the written tests. Scheduling an appointment can save some time it does not cost extra.
What happens once student complete there training at the Free truck driving school?
As per the contract, students complete the training and ready to start working for the company. Student discovers, like many inexperienced drivers, that they are paying students very little for lengthy shifts. If a student decides to quit then the student will have to pay for your FREE CDL training and might end up paying interest too! This is why conventional schools are a better choice.
What happens if the student rejects to work for Free truck training school, after the completion of the truck driving training?
If the student of the free truck driving school decides not to work for them, then comes the real devil. You are now accountable for the entire CDL training costs. I know it’s sad but the student signed that Truck driving training contract with tiny fine prints. So most cases students end up working for that company.
What if student did not complete the free truck driving training and decide to quit or fail the training?
In this kind of situation where student fail or quit the truck driving training, most of the time student has to pay for CDL training. So before you accept an free truck driving training make sure you do your home work. Information we provide is based on the information provided by students who went ot these free truck driving institutions.
Why choose truck driving Career ?
Commercial driving is one of the furthermost rising industries in United States, It’s the 5th fastest growing industry in the nation” and that’s the reason why every day we can find more and more job offers for CDL Drivers all over the country. CDL driving offers a lot of benefits such as top earnings, flexible schedules and it also gives the chance to enjoy a quality life and spent more time with the family and so on.
In order to become a CDL truck driver, student must first obtain a CDL or a Commercial driver´s license. This is where A-1 Truck Driving school becomes effective.
What is Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT)?
FMCSA’s Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) regulations set the baseline for training requirements for entry-level drivers. This applies to those seeking to:
- Obtain a Class A or Class B CDL for the first time;
- Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; or
- Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.
The ELDT regulations are not retroactive; individuals who were issued a CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement prior to February 7, 2022 are not required to complete training for the respective CDL or endorsement.
If an applicant who obtained a CLP prior to February 7, 2022, and obtains a CDL before the CLP or renewed CLP expires, the applicant is not subject to the ELDT requirements.
Any individual who meets one of the exceptions for taking a skills test in 49 CFR Part 383 is also exempt from the ELDT requirements